*bobs head rhythmically*

All of my blog posts have led up to this, I finally get to talk about music. My taste in music is a little odd and there’s no pattern to it. All of my favorite artists have nothing in common besides being amazing.

vlrkj_s-200x150
I still don’t know where this is from but here’s a song I couldn’t fit in.
Recently I’ve been feeling Phoenix, Daft Punk, and The Xx. I guess they have something in common; they help me live through my teenage angst. What do I, an 18 year old white male, have to worry about? Honestly, probably, like, why my iPhone dies so quickly. Actually though, I listen to them every morning and I get my life, I also feel like I look pissed when I listen to them. It’s a good thing though, I don’t need people asking me for favors when I have my headphones in. I grew up with these bands, actually. I was born in 1998 so it’s not surprising. I used to hang around my brother a lot and I’m fair when it comes to #bops; they’re amazing. All three have mix of fast beats and smooth ones, they’re a mix of my favorite kinds of music.

My current favorites from the three: Phoenix, Daft Punk, The Xx.

Earlier this summer I revisited my queen: Mariah Carey. Besides her though, I’ve been listening to Britney Spears and Katy Perry. Mariah Carey, obviously, for those high notes. She GETS me t h e r e. I don’t even think I can explain what she does to me, like, she’s just amazing. Knowing that she’s petty as hell makes her music even better. Britney though, I only listen to her older stuff like prior 2007 breakdown. I understand her in every way though. I reach 2007 Britney every morning especially when I have to wake up for my 9:30 am class that I only have on Mondays and Wednesdays 👀. Same with Katy Perry, I’ve only been listening to One Of the Boys. I can literally sing every song on that album and not miss a word. Fight me on this, it’s my only talent. They’re all amazing singers and have hit songs that no one can deny. Like, if you’re telling me you’ve never sang along or even jammed the slightest bit to All I Want For Christmas, Toxic, or I Kissed A Girl YOU’RE LYING.

derrick-barry-britney-spears-vma-albino-burmese-python-snake-im-a-slave-4-u-performance-mtv-oasis-san-francisco-jose-a-guzman-colon-photography-670x670.jpg
This is Derrick Barry. He’s a professional Britney Spears impersonator. I just wrote a 12 page paper about drag queens so if I had to see it every day for weeks so do you. Relevance: He lipsyncs to Britney Spears’ songs.
Real talk, I just stopped writing for like 7 minutes. I needed to listen to All I Want For Christmas a few times…

My current favorites: Mariah, Britney, Katy.

My actual current jams, like I cannot live without listening to these once a day. Stevie Nicks/Fleetwood Mac, Grover Washington Jr., Blondie. I wasn’t even born in the 70s or the 80s but they fuque me U P. I don’t even know why I like them, I just do. I wish I could blame it on my mom but they don’t sing anything in Spanish, so please let me know. I don’t even know much about them but that doesn’t stop me from listening to them.

Current jams: Stevie, Grover, Blondie.

Now to my international #bops. Listen, I know it’s weird but, Kpop. It’s not that bad. I’m not a die-hard fan but if I find a song that I try to pretend to know the lyrics to then I listen to it every day. There’s one girl that keep me coming back: BoA. I wish I could tell you what she’s saying but whatever I don’t even care. Anyway, next: Ana Tijoux. I can actually tell you what she says because it’s Spanish. I’m not going to though, I don’t care enough. The song that I listen to the most reminds me of my family in Peru. She’s not from there, I think she’s from Argentina or Chile, but the music style is similar. I just get flashbacks of my uncles and aunts drunk as hell, vibin’, doing the most, and just having a great time. As a little kid I obviously didn’t have an interest being around them but I could still hear the music regardless of where in the house I was, and my grandma’s house is literally 3 buildings. I don’t know if Kylie Minogue counts but I’m putting her here. She’s great, foreign and yeah, I don’t know, she’s cool. She’s the better Kylie, I’ll say that. I couldn’t continue without including my Brazilian papi. I don’t even know what he looks like but if he was like “I want to m-” I can’t even finish that thought because I forgot this was for a class. I’ll just keep you wondering. Anyway, he goes by Sango. I love him, his music is so weird. The genre is baile funk, which is like a mix of music that resembles music made if favelas and a funky beat (I don’t know).

#bops:  BoA, Ana, Kylie, Sango.

There’s so much more. I’d write about it but I don’t want to :). Here’s a playlist. (869)

Leave a Reply

