Angel’s not a dick but he’s still a dick.

So for my English class we had to adapt one form of written content into another. I chose to do my favorite book, Tess of the d’Ubervilles. I had to do a lot of research for some measly texts but, honestly, it was worth it. I decided on adapting this part of the book where Tess told her soon-to-be husband, Angel, that she was raped. Literally two seconds before, though, he was like “girl, wait. I have something to get off my chest. I had sex before.” Tess was literally like “YOOOOOOOOO” in her head because now he had to forgive her for not being a virgin… even though it was not her fault. Anyway, I chose to see the irony in the whole situation. The actual texts is a series of dialog that I thought Tess and Angel would have in a familiar setting but still have ties to the Victorian ideals that Hardy wrote. If you were curious, he eventually does forgive her and helps her commit a murder, so, #baegoals… I guess?

Here’s what I call “A Series of Unfortunate Te(xt)ss”

Tess texts finishedt.png

Leave a Reply

